Diversity Recognition Award

The TRSA Diversity Recognition Award honors Operators and Supplier Partners (companies or individuals) who value the “unlikeness” of individuals and encourage or facilitate such variation in human qualities in their workforces.

Typical Diversity Award-Winning Efforts | Dimensions of Diversity | Previous Winners | Nomination Form

Entries worthy of recognition include efforts that represent a step forward in attracting or acknowledging diverse talent, improving intergroup interaction in a multi-cultural workforce, or otherwise promoting and fostering inclusivity to support employees in any group.

Nominations for this and all Industry Awards are welcome throughout the year, closing for 2024 judging (all except Lifetime and Years of Service) Nov. 30, 2023.

Questions can be directed to awards@trsa.org.

Typical Diversity Award-Winning Efforts

Successful diversity efforts can provide individuals with a more defined career path, increase their commitment and encourage future generations of diverse individuals to pursue a career in the industry. Building awareness of individual differences also can enhance how people work together, improving productivity.

Nominations should describe results of initiatives and programs that encourage diversity.

  • Celebration of representation of diverse groups in the workforce
  • English as second-language instruction
  • Fostering respect of groups in the minority in the workforce
  • Hiring refugees and special-needs individuals
  • Knowledge- and skill-building for specific groups
  • Respectful work scheduling (holidays, flex time)
  • Training to increase diversity awareness and attitude

Primary Dimensions of Diversity

Award-winning efforts in other industries have typically addressed various “primary dimensions of diversity” or personal physical qualities that individuals in each group cannot or usually do not change about themselves:

  • Age
  • Ethnicity
  • Gender
  • Physical abilities/qualities
  • Race
  • Sexual orientation
Secondary Dimensions of Diversity

Diversity programs may also address “secondary dimensions of diversity”, which individuals can change:

  • Educational background
  • Geographic location
  • Income
  • Marital status
  • Military experience
  • Parental status
  • Religious beliefs
  • Work experience

Previous Operator Member Winners

2023: ImageFIRST Healthcare Laundry Specialists, King of Prussia, PA
Aramark Uniform Services, Burbank, CA
Shared Hospital Services, Nashville, TN, Emeka Okeani
HLS Linen Services, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2021: Northwest Health Care Linen, Bellingham, WA
2021: Penn Emblem Co., Trevose, PA
2020: Angelica, Oakbrook Terrace, IL
2020: Morgan Services Inc., Buffalo, NY
2020: PureStar Group, Las Vegas, NV
Service Linen Supply, Renton, WA
2019: UniFirst Corp., Wilmington, MA

Exemplary recruiting, orientation, training, celebration and more marked the award-winning ImageFIRST DEI effort in 2023

Previous Supplier Partner Member Winners

2023: Spindle/Dober Group, Woodridge, IL
A1 American, Pacoima, CA
2021: Ecolab Textile Care, St. Paul, MN

Kortney Overzet of Spindle/Dober and TRSA’s Joseph Ricci celebrate the company’s award-winning TRSA DEI leadership

Nomination Form

PLEASE NOTE: Nominate today for 2024 award

  • Nominee Information

  • Nominator Information